Who’s Bound to Win Next Year’s NFL Awards?

With the NFL Awards ceremony complete, one might wonder who might win next year’s NFL Awards. We’ll give explanation for each possible selection and pick a likely candidate for each. To clarify, we will only be predicting the MVP, Offensive and Defensive Rookie of the Year, Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year, Head Coach of the Year, and the Comeback Player of the Year. With that being said, let’s get started.


2017 Winner: Tom Brady, QB, New England Patriots

Projected 2018 Winner: Jimmy Garoppolo, QB, San Francisco 49ers

The student becomes the master. After being traded to the San Francisco 49ers at the trade deadline, Garoppolo has become an interesting player to look out for in next year’s MVP race. If the 49ers become good again, it will be because of Jimmy G’s ability to bring them relevance.

San Francisco 49ers QB Jimmy Garoppolo.

Other Candidates: Matthew Stafford, Russell Wilson

Offensive Rookie of the Year

2017 Winner: Alvin Kamara, RB, New Orleans Saints

Projected 2018 Winner: Saquon Barkley, RB, Penn State

Few believed that Tennessee’s Alvin Kamara could become the OROY, but stranger things have happened in the NFL. It may be a safe pick to choose Barkley for next year, but there isn’t anyone who comes close to his pro-readiness.

Penn State RB Saquon Barkley.

Other Candidates: Courtland Sutton, James Washington

Defensive Rookie of the Year

2017 Winner: Marshon Lattimore, CB, New Orleans Saints

Projected 2018 Winner: Derwin James, S, Florida State

There are many players I could choose from, but I ended up going with James out of FSU. Why? He’s a thumper who has ball-hawk instincts. I think any team becomes better with him on the roster.

Florida State S Derwin James.

Other Candidates: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Tremaine Edmunds

Offensive Player of the Year

2017 Winner: Todd Gurley, RB, Los Angeles Rams

Projected 2018 Winner: Odell Beckham Jr., WR, New York Giants

After suffering a season-ending injury last season, OBJ will look to recoup and put on a clinic for either Eli Manning or whoever is at QB. People won’t forget how dominant a receiver he is for long.

New York Giants WR Odell Beckham Jr.

Other Candidates: Jordan Howard, Deandre Hopkins

Defensive Player of the Year

2017 Winner: Aaron Donald, DT, Los Angeles Rams

Projected 2018 Winner: Jalen Ramsey, CB, Jacksonville Jaguars

I believe 2018 will be the year that there will be consensus on who the most dominant corner in the game is, and his name is Jalen Ramsey. Ramsey has ability to cement himself as the best in the business with a stellar 2o18 campaign; it’s up to him if he delivers.

Jacksonville Jaguars CB Jalen Ramsey.

Other Candidates: Marcus Peters, Khalil Mack

Head Coach of the Year

2017 Winner: Sean McVay, Los Angeles Rams

Projected 2018 Winner: Steve Wilks, Arizona Cardinals

I tried to think outside-the-box on this one, and I’d like to continue the trend of first year head coaches winning this award. Wilks brings a defensive mind to an intriguing defensive unit. With the help of a QB and the return of David Johnson, Wilks could definitely win it.

Arizona Cardinals HC Steve Wilks.

Other Candidates: Mike Tomlin, Jon Gruden

Comeback Player of the Year

2017 Winner: Keenan Allen, WR, Los Angeles Chargers

Projected 2018 Winner: Andrew Luck, QB, Indianapolis Colts

It’s good to see Keenan Allen back in his Pro Bowl form. For next season, a major headline is the health of Andrew Luck. If Luck is healthy and plays well, he’s almost a shoe-in to win this award.

Indianapolis Colts QB Andrew Luck.

Other Candidates: David Johnson, J.J. Watt

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s